Senior Boren a natural choice as captain
Dave Thurman (8:44 pm)

Ohio State named their captains today and most of them will be no surprise to fans.  Seniors Zach Boren (pictured with Urban Meyer), John Simon, Jordan Hall, Garrett Goebel, and Etienne Sabino will serve as the leaders for the 2012 Buckeye squad. Simon who served in this role last year is only the seventh Ohio State player to be a two-time captain.  

Urban Meyer shared the following comments: “Announcing who are team captains is one of the great honors I get to do as head coach. We had a number of guys get votes. This is a really good group of seniors who I am very proud to have leading this team.”

All five of those chosen by their teammates seemed elated with the honor, and both Boren and Hall mentioned that it is "a dream come true."  Simon summed it up well when he said, "I appreciate the votes of the players.  This is one of the biggest honors a player can receive and I'll be proud to lead this team along with four other great guys.  We'll have a really good season if we all lead well."

Congratulations to these five fine young men who lead off the Urban era!



Leave a Reply